Motivation Monday. Studies.

You know those tests they give you in high school to determine what career suits you best? Well, I always knew how to trick myself into getting the answer I wanted at the time. I’m sure a lot of people did too. That’s why I think it to be mostly rubbish. I don’t believe a test can tell you what to do. You must be fairly stupid to expect the result of ‘you should become a police officer’ if all of your answers were art-related. That’s precisely why I never trusted them. 

Let’s be honest here for a second, we all have some profession in mind that we’d like to have at some point in life. Doesn’t matter why you think it’s good – good money, chance to change the world, being your own boss, doing something you love, etc. – it’s in your head. Bloody hell, I thought I’d make an awesome singer when I was 6! And I’m sure if anyone handed me one of those tests back then, it’s the exact answer I would have gotten. Because the truth is, they only tell you what you want to hear. And if the superiors at school think that’s enough done from their side to help you with choosing a path for your future, well, then it’s kind of messed up, isn’t it? If all the advice you get from the people that you trusted to give you education for further life, they’re probably not exactly the people to trust.

And yet, life makes all of that work somehow. Somehow, in some way, after a while, you end up alright. I mean, look at me changing my plans almost as often as socks. And here I am, studying something I like a lot. I can’t say I’m extremely passionate about it all of the time. In fact, it hasn’t been a whole year and I’ve had my doubts. But you know what keeps me going? Knowing that this is the only trade that I’d actually want to have. I can’t picture myself anywhere else, doing anything else. All of the professions I’ve seriously considered throughout the years… Someone I know is studying in all of those fields and I have no regrets to have ditched those ideas. You know, with law there’s this thing. You know it takes time, it takes energy, it takes away from the other stuff you’d rather be doing, but you have to remind yourself that it’s all worth it. 

One way or another, you’re going to get that degree. Maybe you’ll get another one later on in life. But that experience, all the knowledge is something no one can take away from you. You might work in a completely different field afterwards, but you’ll know that you’ve gone through this and you can get through anything and everything. And, dear reader, if you’re questioning your choice, I know you can do it, you can do anything you set your mind to and you will do it. And so will I. That’s a promise.

Leave a comment

