Looking forward to the new year.

So 2017 is actually going to be different. And it’s not a resolution. It’s a fact. After 6 months of working, I finally quit yesterday.

Now, the main reason was that I couldn’t balance work and studies all that well and I do have some proper respect to anyone who does, especially if they’re studying law. Because, trust me, law is difficult. Of course, to finish the course, you don’t have to die studying, but if you want to be a truly good lawyer in the future, if you want to obtain some sort of respect from fellow lawyers, you really do have to go through hell and back. Now that I’ve realised that, at least I’ll know what to expect.

Anyhow, I quit and I am actually going to miss a few things. I never worked ONLY TO get money, it was always more because I wanted to keep myself entertained, to gain new experiences, but I am going to miss being paid regularly. I’ll miss my lovely collegues, who’ve been really nice to me. I’ll miss having something to do, being responsible for something and being a part of this team.

And yet, despite all of that, I’m certainly not going to miss feeling exhausted all of the time, not being able to go somewhere just because of work, I won’t miss feeling sick just thinking about working another 12 hour shift, I will not miss that feeling when you’re not sure if getting hit by a car on the way to work is actually worse than getting there. I will not miss the rude customers, even though I would usually just make fun of them at home with my family and friends, I think they still affected my overall feeling that day.

Yes, there are things I’ll miss and think about going back every once in a while, but I don’t regret quitting, I don’t regret giving myself a break and having some time for myself. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll finally have the time again to share my thoughts with you!

Happy New Year and may it be better than the last one, may you not regret the past and have the courage to do what your heart tells you to in 2017.

Leave a comment

