Best of January 2016.

This month I was really into the period of 1950-1990. I don’t know why, but I started looking into older, vintage things and compared it with today. Here are some of the best of what I’ve found.

WATCHABLES OF THE MONTH.

mv5bmjayodi4mtc0nl5bml5banbnxkftztywotuznti5-_v1-_cr11267434__sx1617_sy873_One of the absolute best things I’ve seen this month is an old British comedy series of sketches, named ‘A bit of Fry and Laurie’. Featuring Dr. House himself – Hugh Laurie and Stephen Fry, the series makes fun of pretty much everything. I have to say, I didn’t know Stephen Fry as well, however, later I realised he’s played Mycroft in Sherlock Holmes (the one with Robert Downey Jr.) and he was also featuring in the Hobbit series as Master of Laketown. The series is actually still funny even though the show first showed up in 1987. Seriously, just give it a go, it’s only 26 episodes, 30 min. each and it’s nothing but a good laugh.

Honorable mentions – Star Wars : The Force awakens (Disney didn’t ruin Star Wars after all. Though if Kylo turns to the light side, I think it’s fair to count him as a Disney prince.) and The Blackadder (I can’t believe I haven’t heard of this, but it’s a comedy series with Rowan Atkinson, Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie and many other great actors.)

READABLES OF THE MONTH.

Okay, one of the best news I heard yesterday – one of my favourite youtubers, the CutiePie Marzia Bisognin actually just started her own blog and I’m sure it’ll be great. If you haven’t seen it yet, click over here. Any fellow marzipans reading?

Another one I absolutely adored is The White Shroud (Balta drobulė) by Antanas Škėma. As it’s originally in lithuanian, I’m not sure if there’s a translation to English, but damn it’s good. Basically, Garšva, the protagonist, is an elevator worker, who is sharing his thoughts and memories with the reader. And it’s not good memories, which shows what a difficult time immigrants are having.

I have to tell you, I hesitated so much before reading The Black Obelisk (Der Schwarze Obelisk) by Erich Maria Remarque. It felt a bit too real at the time, and for a few years I’ve kept it locked with hope to read it sometime later. I finally feel ready and have restarted reading it and I must say – I’m finding it both depressing and ridiculous at times. Highly recommend that one too.

PERSONAL ACHIEVEMENT OF THE MONTH.

Absolutely nailed my first try on History exam. I got 86/100, which is pretty bad ass.

I’m happy to say I finally finished Game of Thrones and Tales from the Borderlands. Both by Telltale (I started during summer, I believe and wasn’t done until earlier this month!) I always thought I could survive in Game of Thrones. I truly did. And then I didn’t. I was devastated. Truly devastated.

2 Replies to “Best of January 2016.”

Leave a comment

