How I changed my mind and started from a scratch again.

Before you read further, I must say I still haven’t decided for sure what am I going to do with my life. But here’s my story and hopefully it will be useful to you in one way or another.

A few years back, I liked drawing, a lot. So, my mom offered me to consider studying architecture (since I’m kind of good at math and she wanted me to have a stable income and stuff like that). At that time it looked like a great idea and I wasn’t really considering anything. I found out what one needed and all (I must say, that even though it would be difficult to get in the university and then study, I was willing to go through all of that). However, I always had this weird feeling deep inside that maybe this isn’t the best decision after all, but I thought it would go away after some time. It didn’t.

Several weeks ago, I was kind of forced to do a painting in oil. It didn’t seem like a big deal, even though I honestly had no ideas what to draw. I did something quite cliché, to be honest, and I knew that, but I just wanted to get done with it and move on. And that’s when something big happened, that changed my view on everything. One person, whose opinion I care quite much about, started criticizing it. I knew all that was said was complete truth, but that’s when I realized people wanted me to do great every time. Nowadays, inspiration to create doesn’t really visit me everyday. That is when I realized that I’ve changed a lot in those few years. I do not like to draw as much anymore. It all was just a phase. How can I base my career and life on a phase? Architecture is not for me. That is what my heart has been telling me all along. That is the feeling I had somewhere deep inside.

Now I have 1.5 years until I start going to university. I still do not know what I want, but, you know, this phase has taught me that you must trust your senses. You can lie to yourself all you want, but if you have a doubt deep inside, a time will come, when you realize it’s not really your thing.

Now, moving on to what I did (and am still doing to make a decision) :

  • Check which subjects you have taken and enjoy learning and which profession do they match.
  • Take some tests on the internet. I have taken a few and yes, they are not always accurate, but again, trust your guts and if have the feeling, go for it.
  • Check which subjects you have taken and enjoy learning and which profession do they match.
  • Go to different lectures. Most universities do lectures for younger people in order to give them a rough understanding of what would it be like to study their thing.
  • Go to university expos. Don’t know if that’s a thing where you live, but it’s basically a place, where a lot of universities send people to consult others about studying there. Students might exaggerate, but lecturers will always tell the truth about the thing. Oh, and don’t be afraid to ask stupid questions, it might help a lot.
  • Dream big. If you have a feeling like ‘it would be great to be a politician, I could change the world’ or ‘it would be great to be a scientist like in that one movie I saw’, try researching it. You might have just the traits to become the next Obama!
  • Narrow down your list to 2-4 and work your way to success! Do researches, ask a lot of questions, work hard and eventually you’ll find yourself being the person you always wanted to be.
  • Do not think that it’ll be easy. Prepare to fight for your dream, move the mountains, if needed. Remember : Good things are never easy to get, but if that’s what your body and soul desires, they’ll make it as easy as possible.
One Reply to “How I changed my mind and started from a scratch again.”

Leave a comment

